Ask Your Question

Akaashic ethers,nether regions and the three worlds

asked 2013-11-04 07:06:10 -0600

Secret gravatar image

updated 2013-11-04 07:06:33 -0600

I read on Guru granth sahib page 509: At the time, there were no Akaashic ethers, no nether regions, nor the three worlds.

I also read about underworld what does it mean?

Can someone please explain in detail.

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

2 answers

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted

answered 2013-11-10 00:24:49 -0600

Gurujis Daughter gravatar image

It is talking about the very beginning when Creation did not exist. At that time Waheguru was alone present. He made the Creation after. What exactly are those three world and Akashic ethers I am not sure.

edit flag offensive delete link more

answered 2013-11-25 14:15:06 -0600

Jasbir Singh gravatar image

Aakashic ethers means the empty sky and spaces in the Universe. In eastern philosophy space occupies important place in the creation because the matter requires space to exist if there is no space there will be no material existence. It has been talked about in detail by many Sikh scholars. The shabad which you are pointing out is basically the Sikhism's creation theory. Guru Sahib says that there was no existence , which actually means that there was no material existence because material requires space. Broadly speaking it means that there was not even space coz there was no need for it as there was no creation at all. Everything was in God. Aakashic ethers in this line is referring to the endless sky which we see through our eyes day and night.

Nether worlds refer to the "pataals" meaning the world below Earth it is elucidating the Indian philosophy in which it is believed that our Universe is comprised of fourteen worlds or planes of existence. The Earthly plane of existence is the seventh plane. Six planes are below Earth and seven are above the Earth. Nether refers to the Worlds below the Earth where existence dwells in various forms (as believed by Vedic scholars)usually Pataals are equated with hells because the show of materialism and ego never ends there, it is also believed that below the lowest pataal (1st from below) there are many planets where purgatory work of souls takes place all of these planes are called as underworld and the triloka or three worlds means the Earth, bhuvarloka just above Earth and Swarga Loka popularly referred to as heavenly World where after death the souls go in their ethereal form to enjoy the fruits of their good deeds.

Summarizing Guru Sahib is saying that "what to talk about Earth and it's living & non living beings, even the heavens, hells, nether worlds all that which we can imagine in some form wasn't existing. There was only Waheguru and Waheguru.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Question Tools


Asked: 2013-11-04 07:06:10 -0600

Seen: 2,971 times

Last updated: Nov 25 '13