Ask Your Question

Is there a way of tracking the progress of spiritual enlightenment ?

asked 2019-07-29 19:05:35 -0600

teraBanda gravatar image

updated 2019-07-31 10:33:31 -0600

Guruka Singh gravatar image

Is there a way of tracking the progress of spiritual enlightenment ?

Or people just usually Keep Naam Japna till they die ?

How does a person know what stage he is in ?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

1 answer

Sort by » oldest newest most voted

answered 2019-07-31 10:45:48 -0600

Guruka Singh gravatar image

Answer 1: It doesn't matter. Just keep going.

Answer 2: There is a model in Gurbani.

ਵੇਮੁਖੁ - Beymukh: is a person whose face has nothing to do with the Guru. There’s nothing there. No light. No spirituality. No sense of consciousness. They are not looking to the Guru at all. They may even be oblivious to the idea of Guru. Do you know someone who has turned away from the Guru? Or doesn’t feel any connection at all to the Guru? That is Behmukh.

ਮਨਿਮੁਖਿ - Manmukh: is a person who follows their own mind, ਮਨਿ - Man, rather than the Guru’s teachings. We all have done it sometimes. A Manmukh thinks they can figure everything out with their mind alone. They may be aware of a higher consciousness but they consider themselves above everyone and everything. They may be aware of the Guru. But they are not yet ready to temper their own ego to the Guru or to their Higher Self.

ਸਨਮੁਖੁ - Sanmukh: This is the dawning of the light, where the courtship begins. Those in the stage of Sanmukh have realized their own limitations, and they have come to see that their struggle and pain can be eased by following a path that elevates their consciousness. The Sanmukh allows the light of the Guru to penetrate into them, to cleanse them. As this happens, they become naturally serviceful. The understanding may not be complete. But they sacrifice their “I” on the altar of “Thou”. They apply themselves to the discipline of learning, practicing and doing what the Guru teaches. The apprenticeship of the soul has begun.

ਗੁਰਮੁਖਿ - Gurmukh: is one who has become the embodiment of the Guru’s teachings. The ego surrenders and self-serving actions fall away. The mind has become cleansed meditating on the Guru’s words and doing the Guru’s ਸੇਵਾ - Seyvaa (Seva). The Guru comes through such people. They become clear channels of the Divine Will. Harbhajan Singh Khalsa Yogiji once defined Gurmukh as “Flowing with the integrity of the Guru’s Word.” The one who manifests this stage of Gurmukh has become Masterful in that they act exactly as the Guru has taught.

ਸ੍ਰੀਮੁਖ - Sirimukh: is the realm of the Guru and the realm of Khalsa (the Pure Ones). The first four stages are explained within the Siri Guru Granth Sahib. But it took 200 years of evolving teachings before humanity was ready for this stage of Sirimukh to be introduced by Guru Gobind Singh, the tenth Sikh Guru. This stage goes beyond the stage of Gurumukh to where the psyche has become crystal clear, absolutely pure. The Universal radiance of the Divine within you shines steady and strong for all to see. This is the continuous manifestation of pure consciousness. In the stage of Gurmukh a bud has been formed. But it is the stage of Sirimukh where the flower blooms. A person who manifests this stage ... (more)

edit flag offensive delete link more

Question Tools

1 follower


Asked: 2019-07-29 19:05:35 -0600

Seen: 1,280 times

Last updated: Jul 31 '19