Ask Your Question

Revision history [back]

click to hide/show revision 1
initial version

We now have our resident forum jester to keep everyone amused. Thank you, Singh is King :)

The "Six Schools" of Indian philosophy are the schools that accept the authority of the Vedas and thus religiously are considered part of Hinduism. Guru Nanak Dev Ji is saying that it doesn't matter what traditional school of thought you follow. There is only one teacher - the Shabd Guru that prevails through them all.

The six schools are:

  1. "Interpretation," or Pûrva Mîmâm.sâ, This school later was practically absorbed into Vedânta.

  2. Vedanta, which picks up where the Upanishads leave off and is based on the Upanishads, the Bhagavad Gîta, and the Brahma Sutras of Badarayana.

  3. Sankhya, the School of Theoretical Knowledge which established the concepts of the tattvas and gunas as described in the Siri Guru Granth Sahib.

  4. Yoga, "Yoking" oneself to the Infinite within. Self-discipline. It is de3scribed in the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali.

  5. Nyaya, "Analysis," the School of Logic.

  6. Vaishesika, "Individual Characteristics," A very philosophical school which concerned itself with abstract issues of logic, epistemology, and metaphysics.

Each school has a lineage with a particular teacher that began it.