Ask Your Question
0

May contain egg

asked 2015-04-30 03:08:28 -0600

anonymous user

Anonymous

If on the ingredients list, there isn't any mention of egg but lower down it says may contain egg, are we allowed to eat it?

edit retag flag offensive close merge delete

2 answers

Sort by ยป oldest newest most voted
1

answered 2015-04-30 10:22:22 -0600

Guruka Singh gravatar image

updated 2015-05-08 13:27:50 -0600

Yes you can. This label only indicates that there may be trace amounts. It's more of a disclaimer than part of the ingredient list itself. Trace basically means there may be (and I stress "may") just a trace amount of that ingredient in the food. This usually indicates less than 0.1g

For example. If you had 10 litres of water and added one drop of orange juice, there would be a trace of orange juice in the water. It is so small it is irrelevant.

The labeling is there for people who have severe food allergies (such as celiac disease.) It's important not to be fanatic about diet. Be alert and aware, but eat in a relaxed, balanced way.

Being a vegetarian requires knowledge of protein and other nutrients in foods so that you get proper nutrition.

edit flag offensive delete link more
0

answered 2015-05-06 10:06:53 -0600

Jaskirat Kaur gravatar image

No you are not allowed to eat it. You can't risk a possible intake of eggs.

edit flag offensive delete link more

Your Answer

Please start posting anonymously - your entry will be published after you log in or create a new account.

Add Answer

[hide preview]

Question Tools

Stats

Asked: 2015-04-30 03:08:28 -0600

Seen: 532 times

Last updated: May 08 '15